Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada
Directory   Search  

For Your Information

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada is Canada’s largest Lutheran denomination with 182,077 baptized members in 624 congregations. It is a member of the Lutheran World Federation, the Canadian Council of Churches, and the World Council of Churches.

Material provided through ELCIC Information is intended for reproduction and redistribution by recipients in whatever manner they may find useful.

From the Office of the Bishop


Winnipeg, July 28, 2004 (ELCIC) --The 2004 Companion of the Worship Arts is the Rev. Dr. Eduard Riegert. The award was presented to this year's laureate at the first ever joint National Worship Conference of the ELCIC and the Anglican Church of Canada in Toronto July 21-25.

Dr. Riegert has recently retired from a distinguished career as Professor of Homiletics at Waterloo Lutheran Seminary. In this pivotal role, Dr. Riegert has helped to shape many of our pastors in their vocation of preaching. He himself is a very gifted preacher and writer and has used these gifts to stir the imaginations of his students and people in the church at large. Always active beyond the seminary community, he has offered parish workshops and participated broadly in the church at every level. Dr. Riegert is known for his interest and scholarship in native studies.

A member of Mount Zion Lutheran Church, Waterloo, Ontario, Dr. Riegert wrote and was a presenter of "The River of Life" - which formed the content of the 1998 National Worship Conference -- a unique and dynamic piece that uses narrative, art and music to tell the baptismal story with images that arise from the history of the Canadian people.

Companion of the Worship Arts (CWA) is an honour bestowed by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) in recognition of significant contributions to the worship life of the ELCIC. The honour recognizes ongoing inspiration and encouragement to others, and service to God, through worship, spirituality and the arts. Past laureates have included Rev Paul Bosch, Rev Donald Johnson, Margaret Harms and Rev Michael Mills.

In full communion with The Anglican Church of Canada
© Copyright 2007 Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada