Update on the Election of a New ELCIC National Bishop

As of the dinner break on Friday, delegates at the Eleventh Biennial National Convention of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) had not yet elected a new National Bishop. Just prior to the two-hour break, delegates cast their fifth ballot for Bishop.

The fifth ballot for Bishop included the following three nominees:
– Bishop Cynthia Halmarson
– Rev. Susan Johnson
– Rev. Edward Skutshek

In order to declare the election of a Bishop on the fifth ballot, a majority of votes need to be received for one individual.

Information on the balloting process, which began on Thursday evening, is available on the ELCIC website: www.elcic.ca (click on the link to Convention 2007)

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada is Canada’s largest Lutheran denomination with 174,555 baptized members in 620 congregations. It is a member of the Lutheran World Federation, the Canadian Council of Churches and the World Council of Churches.

Material provided through ELCIC Information is intended for reproduction and redistribution by recipients in whatever manner they may find useful.

For more information, please contact:
Trina Gallop, Manager of Communications
302-393 Portage Ave. Winnipeg MB R3B 3H6

Subscribe or unsubscribe to ELCIC Information by emailing info@elcic.ca with a short message.