Rev. Susan C. Johnson was elected as the fourth National Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada on June 27, 2007. Her ordination, consecration and installation ceremony was held at Lutheran Church of the Cross in Winnipeg, Manitoba on September 29, 2007.

On July 12, 2019, Rev. Johnson was re-elected to a fourth term as National Bishop.

Rev. Johnson is the first woman to hold the title of National Bishop within the ELCIC.