National Bishop Susan Johnson Re-Elected on Second Ballot

On the second ballot for National Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC), the Rev. Susan C. Johnson was re-elected by delegates at the 13th Biennial National Convention for a second four-year term.

In her address following the announcement, Bishop Johnson thanked delegates for trusting her with the call the National Bishop. “Four years ago you honoured me with this election,” she said, “and I feel just as honoured today.”

Bishop Johnson acknowledged the support she receives from colleagues, the conference of bishops, church partners and others throughout the church, and shared with delegates that she knows she doesn’t, “work in a vacuum.”

“I covet your prayers,” she said, “and I thank you very much for the trust you have placed in me.”

Bishop Johnson is the fourth bishop to serve the ELCIC. This will be her second four-year term as National Bishop. She was first elected in 2007.

Over 500 Lutherans and special guests are meeting in Saskatoon at the ELCIC’s 13th National Convention. Full agenda details and a live link to the proceeding are available on the National Convention website:

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada is Canada’s largest Lutheran denomination with 152,500 baptized members in 607 congregations. It is a member of the Lutheran World Federation, the Canadian Council of Churches and the World Council of Churches.

Material provided through ELCIC Information is intended for reproduction and redistribution by recipients in whatever manner they may find useful.

For more information, please contact:
Trina Gallop, Director of Communications
302-393 Portage Ave. Winnipeg MB R3B 3H6

Subscribe or unsubscribe to ELCIC Information by emailing with a short message. new article, replace this text with your own content and images and press submit.